An Age of Re-Invention

We’re in an age of re-invention.

Facebook and Twitter have re-invented the revolution.  Entertainment television is re-inventing itself, following in the footsteps of TV news,  with online content providers like Netflix and Amazon competing with networks and cable.  Movies are re-inventing themselves with the global blockbuster taking the place of the nuanced drama.  The government is re-inventing healthcare.  All of this going on right before our very eyes.  We are witnesses to history.  Unless we let it pass us by while looking at our smartphones, with headphones in our ears.  And none of this looks quite like the future Stanley Kubrick and Arthur C. Clark promised us a couple of years before I was born in a forerunner of the modern blockbuster called….2001.  It looks a bit more like a short story by one of my favorite writers, William Gibson, called the “Garensbach Continuum.”

Welcome to my blog.

Yes, I, too, am reinventing myself.  Of course this could be a midlife crisis but without the sports car, divorce and trophy-wife!  I have so much that I want to say, and I know that my teen-aged son would be mortified if he saw me on the evening news at the steps of city hall screaming into a megaphone!  My employers would as well, but never mind that. So, being hip to the 21st century — do people even say “hip” anymore? (subject for a future blog post) –I’m doing it online.

Call me your town crier.

Here at St Thomas Place, I’m going talk about the future.  Our future.  America’s future.  I’m going to talk about things that interest me, and do it with wit and humor and inspiration.  We’re going to talk about things like television, film, parenting, relationships.  We’re going to talk about some forbidden topics — no I don’t mean Mayor Weiner’s social life.  Oh, that’s right!  DeBlasio won (note to self).  We’re going to talk some topics formerly forbidden in polite conversation: politics and moral philosophy.

So thank you for joining me.  While you’re here check out some of my other posts in the topic areas above:  ‘Politics,’ ‘Pursuit of Virtue,’ ‘Television Reviews’ and ‘Three Quick Points.’  And, please, do leave me some comments, so that I can make this a better, more interesting corner of the web.

If you liked what you read here and you want to read me on a regular basis, click the follow button and bring ten of your friends back with you.

Don’t forget to share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

The opinions expressed in my writings are my own, unless otherwise cited or attributed, and not necessarily those of my employers.

7 thoughts on “An Age of Re-Invention

      1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve
        really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I
        hope you write again very soon!

    1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
      like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that
      you could do with some pics to drive the message home a
      bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog. An excellent read.
      I’ll certainly be back.

  1. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and
    it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few
    interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write
    next articles referring too this article. I want to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

